I went into Mill End Textiles on Friday with the goal of picking up some batting so I could finally finish one of the many quilt toppers that co-exist in my spare bedroom’s closet.

Three days later, I’m a bag lady.

bag #2

As I combed the store (can anyone really find anything quickly in that store?) for the batting, a tote bag pattern caught my eye. And then three bolts of fabric caught the other one.

I left the store with my bag gear, and no batting. (Really – the quilt waited this long. What’s another week or year?)

I’m really good at starting projects, but not so good at finishing them so I decided that it would be better to just dive in and get a bag made. I surprised myself by how quickly bag #1 was finished. I went to bed at 1:01am – that’s practically early in project-land!

With bag #1 under my belt, I was compelled to crank out #2. Crank I did! It was done in less than 3 hours of work, just in time to get in the mail to my sister in Jordan (the city, not the country).

What a feeling of accomplishment.

bag #2 close up

Now if I could only get the same motivation to clean the living room…

