Peter and I were enroute to his school this past May.

I love this time with him as we get to talk and be silly as we careen the Fargo hills (ie: underpasses).

“Mommy, I want to be in the running show with you and Daddy next time,” said my dear one.

Running show. Running show? I had no idea what he was talking about.

“What running show, honey?”

“You know, the one where you and Daddy came into the room and you were on the big screen. I want to be on that.”

Ah – he was talking about the marathon! The end of the Fargo Marathon results with racers triumphantly running into the arena of the Fargodome, and is broadcast on their four jumbo-trons.

“Okay, you can do that with us. And then you can get a medal like Daddy and I did.”

“Oh no, I don’t need a medal, Mommy.”

Then pointing to his chest, scrolling his finger across and down, he said…

“I’ll just wear a t-shirt that says ‘I don’t need a medal, because I win every time’.”

I totally lost it and called Casey to tell him about our son, the winner.

