It just hit me again as I laid Charlotte down to sleep in our bed. This is all going to pass by so quickly.

I first felt it when Peter was just a few weeks old.

Casey and I were at the dinner table, Peter at our feet in the crib from Uncle Andrew. I looked down at my sweet baby and started to cry. Casey asked me what was wrong.

“I don’t want him to grow up,” came out as a sob.

“Honey, we do want him to grow up,” reassured my sweet and so practical husband.

“No. I. Don’t.” I sobbed back.

I really didn’t. I wanted that little baby to stay in that crib for all eternity. That sweet baby will turn four in July.

And now my new baby is leaving her babyhood. Her arms and legs are starting to stretch out. Her blonde hair is getting longer and thicker every day. Her legs are holding her steady as she bobs up and down and ventures forward a few steps without the aid of a couch/parent/table/stationary object. Her mouth has four little teeth. Her vocabulary consists of “ma-ma”, “da-da”, and “go”. Her brother is her hero and the way she looks at him makes me break out into a grin instantly. Her first birthday is coming up in just over a month. Unbelievable.

So tonight as I laid Charlotte down to sleep in our bed, I softly muttered, “This is going by so fast. They’re going to be gone in the blink of an eye.”

I started to get teary and waited for Casey to say something profoundly reassuring…and kept waiting.

“Are you asleep?” (The world’s best question from a wife to her husband when he’s clearly sleeping.)

He roused long enough for me to repeat my sentence. His answer wasn’t reassuring. It was practical. “Yes.”

And so I’ll continue to stare at my babies as they sleep, willing them to stop growing but recording each moment of their lives in my mind.

